Easingwold Town AFC

The Sugar Mouse Cup 2014

Kates phone 2013 Oct 2014 322 Copy

21st October 2014

After a successful debut last year the Sugar Mouse Cup returned to Easingwold Town on the 24th September where we welcomed back last year’s winners Alne, along with teams from Easingwold, Crayke, Sutton-on-the-Forest & Huby Primary schools.

The teams battled it out in a round-robin tournament, with each providing some very entertaining football along the way. This reached its zenith when Crayke and Easingwold’s ‘A’ team were pitched against each other in the final game level on both points and goal difference. At the final whistle they were still tied and so penalties ensued. After the first round of well taken penalties it was still level and so it was time for sudden death penalties, with goals scored and penalties saved by both goalkeepers before Luke Forshaw saved the all-important one for Crayke.

It was fantastic entertainment and although it is a shame that there had to be a sole winner after such a titanic contest big congratulations go to Crayke Primary School who keep the trophy for the coming year. However no one went home empty handed as the trophy’s generous sponsor, Angie, from local sweet shop Sugar Mouse handed out bags of sweets to all who took part.

Thanks to Angie and all who participated from the schools and the club for such a wonderful evening of football and we look forward to seeing you all again next year.